1. Home
  2. Login
  3. View Cart
  4. Checkout

Yorkshire Three Peaks Route Guide

Yorkshire Three Peaks Route Guide

The Yorkshire Three Peaks Challenge, climbing Whernside, Ingleborough and Pen-y-ghent and returning to the starting point in a continuous circuit, is a tough undertaking. The distance is 24 miles with a total ascent of 1,600 metres. There is no official starting point, though the most popular route is the one shown in this map-guide.

Many choose to start in Horton, but Ribblehead, with its early morning train service, makes a better starting point. Whernside is climbed first, then Ingleborough, leading down to Horton-in-Ribblesdale. Pen-y-ghent follows, then there is a seven-mile trek over Horton Moor to finish back at Ribblehead.

The full-colour guide folds out to provide a double-sided A3 page layout showing a map of the route with text boxes giving specific instructions. The map is based upon Ordnance Survey 1:25,000 scale mapping, but with superfluous information removed for route clarity. Also included is a table giving route section distances and times, both individual and cumulative.

Panels give details of alternative circular routes for each of the peaks, as follows:
Pen-y-ghent circular from Horton-in-Ribblesdale - 6.6 miles
Whernside circular from Ribblehead - 8.1 miles
Ingleborough circular from Ribblehead - 9.9 miles

ISBN 9781911321019 A3 sheet folded to 150mm x 210mm (2018)

Price: 1.99