1. Home
  2. Login
  3. View Cart
  4. Checkout

Walking in County Durham

Walking in County Durham

by: Paddy Dillon
County Durham, the Land of the Prince-Bishops, lies between two mighty rivers, the Tyne to the north and the Tees to the south, stretching from the high Pennines in the west to the cliffs of the east coast. This popular guide book describes 450 miles of walking routes and cycle trails, exploring all corners of this varied and historic landscape, wild moorlands, gentle countryside, riverside walks, nature reserves, heritage sites, railway paths and the low cliff coast. Routes pass Roman forts, ancient churches and castles. Solid stone villages encircle extensive greens; and, on the high Pennines, vast tracts of wild moorland are now 'open access.'

There are 40 contrasting day walks from easy to strenuous plus 10 cycle routes on old railway trackbeds. The guide is copiously illustrated throughout with colour photographs and each of the routes has a colour route map based upon OS Landranger mapping. Packed with local information on the wildlife, geology, history and industrial heritage of the county this guide is an indispensable companion to exploring County Durham on foot.

The walk locations are:
Durham City and the River Wear - 3 miles
Bearpark, Broompark and Brandon - 8 miles
Dipton and Hamsterley Mill - 6 miles
Beamish and Causey - 6 miles
Ouston and Urpeth - 3.5 miles
Lumley Castle and Great Lumley - 6 miles
Durham Coast Path - 10.5 miles
Castle Eden Dene - 6 miles
Wingate and Station Town - 6 miles
Cassop and Quarrington - 6.25 miles
Sedgefield and Hardwick Hall - 6 or 8 miles
Middleton One Row and Girsby - 9 miles
Low and High Coniscliffe - 8 miles
Gainford and Piercebridge - 12.5 miles
Cockfield Fell and Butterknowle - 7 miles
Woodland and Copley - 5.5 miles
Staindrop and Cleatlam - 6 miles
Greta Bridge and Brignall Banks - 8 or 10 miles
Tan Hill and Sleightholme Moor - 9 miles
Bowes and Bowes Moor - 10 miles
Barnard Castle and the Tees - 8 miles
Cotherstone and Romaldkirk - 6.5 miles
Tees Railway Walk - 6.5 miles
Middleton and Monk's Moor - 10 miles
Middleton and Grassholme - 9 miles
Low Force and High Force - 8 miles
Holwick and Hagworm Hill - 15 miles
Mickle Fell via the Boundary Route - 7.5 miles
Cronkley Fell - 7.5 miles
Cow Green and Widdybank Fell - 10 miles
Cow Green and Herdship Fell - 10 miles
Bishop Auckland and Binchester - 4.5 miles
Circuit of Crook - 9.5 miles
Wolsingham and Frosterley - 10 miles
Wolsingham and Tunstall Reservoir - 7 miles
Stanhope and Stanhope Dene - 9 miles
Westgate, Middlehope and Rookhope - 10 miles
Chapelfell Top and Noon Hill - 7 miles
Cowshill, Killhope and Allenheads - 11 or 12 miles
Edmundbyers and Edmundbyers Common - 9 miles

ISBN 9781852847913 Pages 235 (2015) 117mm x 172mm

Price: 11.95