1. Home
  2. Login
  3. View Cart
  4. Checkout

The Munros

The Munros

by: Paul and Helen Webster
The Munros are mountains in Scotland with a height of over 3,000 feet and take their name from the first list of such hills published in 1891 by Victorian mountaineer, Sir Hugh Munro, 4th Baronet of Lindertis. Revised several times in the years since, most recently in 2012, the official list now features 282 peaks.

This guide is for anyone who wants to climb these mountains and aims to provide reliable routes and tips for ascending them safely. The Munros will ensure you reach parts of Scotland you might otherwise overlook, spend memorable evenings in pubs, bothies and wild camps, and have encounters with other walkers, locals and wildlife that enhance the adventure regardless of whether you get to the top of one Munro or all of them.

The book includes lots of stunning colour photography and relief maps illustrating the ascent routes. For each Munro the navigational text is preceded by details of distance in km, ascent in metres, estimated time, start point OS grid reference, OS Explorer map sheet number, terrain and hazards and information on any public transport facilities.

This comprehensive guide book arranges the hills into fifteen geographical areas, providing an ascent route for each Munro within each area. The Munro groups are as follows:
Loch Lomond and the Arrochar Alps
Crianlarich and Tyndrum Hills, Bridge of Orchy and Dalmally
Glen Etive, Glen Coe, Kinlochleven and Duror
Loch Tay and Loch Earn
Pitlochry to Dalwhinnie
Badenoch and Strathspey
Glenshee and the Angus Glens
Spean Bridge and Roybridge
Fort William
Glen Affric, mullardoch and Strathfarrar
Achnasheen, Glen Carron and Torridon
Ullapool and the Far North
The Islands: Skye and Mull

ISBN 9781907025273 Pages 672 (2012) 105mm x 148mm

Price: 12.95