1. Home
  2. Login
  3. View Cart
  4. Checkout

The Hertfordshire Way

The Hertfordshire Way

by: Bert Richardson and Ian Hirst
Linking many of the county's towns and villages this unique walk travels through much of the best of Hertfordshire's countryside, covering 195 miles in an anti-clockwise circular route. The walk is described in 14 day-walk sections beginning and ending at Royston, although the walk could be commenced at any point, or walked as individual day-walks at different times. The route was created as part of the Ramblers' Association Jubilee celebrations and is now managed by the 'Friends of the Hertfordshire Way'. The route was officially opened in 1998 and is waymarked throughout.

The walk is conveniently divided into 14 day-walk sections (legs) of between 9 and 15 miles, plus two alternative route options for one of the sections. In addition to the written text each section has a map of the route. The description for each leg has been written so that it is possible to follow the route without recourse to a map, although the authors do recommend the use of OS Explorer maps to give additional enjoyment to your walk. Also included in the text are notes of places of interest that you pass, or can deviate to view.

Each leg is designed to be a good day's walking for the average walker and to have public transport options at the beginning and end where possible. The book includes a detailed mileage chart listing intermediate locations for each section to allow you to plan their own itinerary if preferred.

Each section chapter begins with practical information, including distance, start location with grid reference and post code, OS Explorer map sheet numbers, public transport, and pubs and refreshment locations. The book has been produced to a high standard with numerous excellent colour photographs and clear strip sketch maps with the route shown in red.

The walk sections are as follows:
Royston to Wallington - 11.1 miles
Wallington to Little Wymondley - 12.2 miles
Little Wymondley to Codicote - 9.3 miles
Codicote to St Albans - 12.6 miles
St Albans to Markyate - 11 miles
Markyate to Tring Station - 11.4 miles
Tring Station to Kings Langley - 15.4 miles
Kings Langley to Shenley - 12.3 miles
Shenley to Cuffley - 11.5 miles
Cuffley* to Hertford - 12.6 miles
Hertford to Widford - 13.6 miles
Widford to Bishop's Stortford - 11.1 miles
Bishop's Stortford to Hare Street - 12.4 miles
Hare Street to Royston - 12.6 miles

*Alternative two section route from Cuffley to Hertford
Cuffley Station to Broxbourne Station - 12 miles
Broxbourne Station to Hertford - 12.5 miles
This extension visits a significant area of ancient woodland and also takes in a large section of the Lee (or Lea) Valley.

ISBN 9781901037241 Pages 144 (2017) 148mm x 210mm

Price: 10.80