1. Home
  2. Login
  3. View Cart
  4. Checkout

Six Dales Trail Walking Guidebook

Six Dales Trail Walking Guidebook

by: John Sparshatt
The Six Dales Trail runs through some of the most beautiful yet little-known countryside in the Yorkshire Dales. The Trail starts in Otley, 12 miles to the northwest of Leeds, and heads north for 38 miles to Middleham, traversing the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and taking the walker into six dales, each with its own distinctive character. Along its way it crosses the five watersheds that separate the six dales that give it its name. From Wharfedale it passes over into Washburndale, then into Nidderdale, Colsterdale, Coverdale and finally Wensleydale.

The guide begins with an introduction giving an overview of the route and its features. There is not a dull section along the Trail. The route is then described in detail in 14 short sections. each set out across two facing pages. On the left page is a highly detailed route description in numbered paragraphs and on the right an Ordnance Survey 1:25000 scale full colour map with the route clearly highlighted by a corridor of two red lines bounding the OS green path line, but not obscuring it. The book also contains numerous attractive colour photographs and has a forward by Janet Street-Porter.

ISBN 9780956444110 Pages 44 (2016) 130mm x 210mm

Price: 5.99